

The IEEE Symposium on New Frontiers in Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks November 8-11, Baltimore, MD USA • www.ieee-dyspan.org

GENERAL CHAIR

Paul Kolodzy

Kolodzy Consulting, USA

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Victor Bahl

Microsoft Research, USA

Stephen Berger

IEEE Electromagnetic Compatibility Society, USA

Nim Cheung

Telcordia Technologies, Inc.
IEEE Communications Society, USA

Panagiotis Demestichas

WWRF, Greece

Joe Evans

National Science Foundation, USA

Mike Gallagher

U.S. Department of Commerce National Telecommunications and Information Administration, USA

Paul Mankiewich

Lucent Mobility Solutions, USA

Preston Marshall

Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), USA

John Muleta

Venable, LLP, USA

Krishan Sabnani

Bell Labs, USA

TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Dale Hatfield

University of Colorado, USA

Preston Marshall

DARPA, USA

POLICY PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Peter Tenhula

FCC, USA

Phil Weiser

University of Colorado, USA

PUBLICATIONS CHAIR

Milind Buddhikot

Lucent/Bell Labs, USA

DySPAN FOUNDERS

Paul Kolodzy

Kolodzy Consulting, USA

Milind Buddhikot

Lucent/Bell Labs, USA

Nim Cheung

Telcordia Technologies, Inc. IEEE Communications Society, USA

Joe Evans

National Science Foundation, USA

This New Symposium will feature papers, posters, panels, and tutorials with a technical, policy, legal or economic focus.

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS:

Richard Lynch,

Chief Technical Officer Verizon Wireless

Michael Gallagher,

Assistant Secretary of Commerce/ Director of National Telecommunications and Information Administration

Anthony J. Tether,

Director, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)

DYSPAN VISION

Current radio technology trends promise to enable "Dynamic Spectrum Access" (DSA) networks, using wide-band spectrum sensing, real-time spectrum allocation and acquisition, and infrastructureless mesh networks. Not only do these trends challenge the existing technologies, they challenge the traditional "command and control" methods of allocating and licensing spectrum by government fiat.

IEEE DySPAN 2005 will be a new, first-of-its-kind symposium on DSA Networks that brings together the technologists designing and building these new exciting devices with the spectrum policy community that will be charged with re-architecting the legal regime for managing spectrum in the 21st century that must accommodate these new technologies. Today we are moving away from command and control approaches to spectrum management toward market-based methods and expanded unlicensed use. Tomorrow technology trends are forcing an inflection point in policy, leading to the adaptation of rules and practices radically different from today's regulations. This is therefore an opportune time to have a single, premier forum that brings together a broad range of representatives, researchers, practitioners and policy makers from industry, academia, and government from around the globe who are engaged in cutting edge explorations in technology, policies and legal aspects of emerging DSA networks.

TECHNICAL CO-SPONSORS

- ACM /Sigmobile
- IEEE EMC Society
- WWRF

PATRONS as of 23 August 2005

- Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)
- Lucent Technologies
- Microsoft Corporation
- MITRE Corporation
- Sandbridge Technologies, Inc.
- Motorola
- Venable, LLP











GENERAL CHAIR

Paul Kolodzy, Kolodzy Consulting, USA

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Victor Bahl, Microsoft Research, USA Stephen Berger, IEEE Electromagnetic Compatibility Society, USA Nim Cheung, Stanford University, IEEE Communications Society, USA Panagiotis Demestichas, WWRF, Greece Joe Evans, National Science Foundation, USA Mike Gallagher, U.S. Department of Commerce/National Telecommunications and Information Administration, USA Paul Mankiewich, Lucent Mobility Solutions, USA Preston Marshall, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), USA John Muleta, Venable, LLP, USA Krishan Sabnani, Bell Labs, USA

TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE

TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Dale Hatfield, University of Colorado, USA **Preston Marshall**, DARPA, USA

TECHNOLOGY TRACK

VICE CHAIRS - TUTORIALS John Chapin, Vanu, Inc., USA

Committee Membership Victor Bahl, Microsoft Research, USA Didier Bourse, Motorola, France Bob Brodersen, UC Berkeley, USA Milind Buddhikot, Lucent/Bell Labs, USA John Chapin, Vanu, USA Joseph Evans, National Science Foundation, USA Dave Farber, Carnegie Mellon University, USA John Glossner, Sandbridge, USA Friedrich Jondral, Univ of Karlsruhe, Germany Chang-Joo Kim, ETRI, Korea Julie Knapp, FCC, USA Kalle Kontson, Alion, USA Greg Lapin, ARRL, USA Petri Mahonen, RWTH Aachen University, Germany Mark McHenry, Shared Spectrum Company, USA Joe Mitola, DARPA, USA Karl Nebbia, NTIA, USA Stefan Mangold, Swisscom, Switzerland Dipankar Raychaudhuri, Rutgers University, USA Dennis Roberson, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA Tod Sizer, Lucent/Bell Labs, USA Paul Steffes, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA Will Stewart, - UK Doug Sward, Industry, Canada Reinaldo Valenzuela, Lucent/Bell Labs, USA Wilbur Vincent, Naval Postgraduate School, USA

POLICY PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIRS Peter Tenhula, FCC, USA

Phil Weiser, University of Colorado, USA

POLICY TRACK

VICE CHAIRS - TUTORIALS **Bill Lehr**, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA **Kevin Werbach**, Wharton SchoolUniversity of

Pennsylvania USA

Committee Membership

Stuart Benjamin, Duke, USA Dean Brenner, Qualcomm, USA Mary Brown, Cisco, USA Martin Cave, Warwick Business School, UK Peter Cowhey, University of California, San Diego Pierre De Vries, Microsoft, USA Gerry Faulhaber, Univ of Penn, USA Ari Fitzgerald, Hogan & Hartson, USA Joe Gattuso, NTIA, USA Ellen Goodman, Rutgers, USA Nancy Jesuale, NetCityEngineering, USA Geoff Luther, ACA, Australia Brian Miller, Ministry of Economic Development, New Zealand Peter Pitsch, Intel, USA Charla Rath, Verizon Wireless, USA Greg Rosston, Stanford, USA Howard Shelanski, UC Berkeley, USA Doug Sicker, University of Colorado, USA Jim Speta, Northwestern University, USA Tom Sugrue, T-Mobile, USA William Webb, OFCOM, UK Doug Webbink, Independent, USA Kevin Werbach, Univ of Penn, USA

PUBLICATIONS CHAIR

Milind Buddhikot, Lucent/Bell Labs, USA

Steve Wildman, Michigan State University, USA

IEEE COMMUNICATIONS SOCIETY

Curtis Siller, President Nim Cheung, President Elect Doug Zuckerman, VP, Membership Services Harvey Freeman, VP Technical Activities Shri Goyal, Director, Meetings & Conferences

Jens Zander, KTH, Sweden

John M. Howell, Executive Director Brian Bigalke, Dept Head, Meetings & Conferences Debora Kingston, Sr. Conference Manager Gayle Weisman, Conference Manager